St. Martin's Press A Good Neighborhood
St. Martin's Press A Good Neighborhood

A Good Neighborhood

By Therese Anne Fowler

$27.99

Publication Date: February 4, 2020

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

For fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult, a stunning page-turner about two very different families living side by side in an idyllic neighborhood - and the summer that changes their lives forever.

What happens when you try to do the right thing but it all goes wrong?

In Oak Knoll, a verdant, tight-knit North Carolina neighborhood, professor of forestry and ecology Valerie Alston-Holt is raising her bright and talented biracial son Xavier, who’s headed to college in the fall. After years of single parenting, Valerie, a widow, faces the prospect of an empty nest. All is well until the Whitmans?an apparently traditional family with new money and a secretly troubled teenaged daughter—raze the house and trees next door to build themselves a showplace.

Thanks to his thriving business, Brad Whitman is a local celebrity, and he's made a small fortune on his customer service and charm, while his wife, Julia, escaped her trailer park upbringing and too-early motherhood for the security of marriage and homemaking. Their new house is more than she’d ever dreamed of for herself and her girls.

But with little in common except a property line, these two very different families quickly find themselves at odds: first, over an historic oak tree in Valerie's yard, and soon after, the blossoming romance between their two teenagers. 

A Good Neighborhood asks big questions about life in America today ? what does it mean to be a good neighbor? How do we live alongside each other when we don't see eye to eye? ? as it explores the effects of class, race, and heartrending love in a story that’s as provocative as it is powerful.

 

Add to wishlist / Add to comparison

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2020 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal