Square Fish Attacked at Sea
Square Fish Attacked at Sea

Attacked at Sea

By Michael J. Tougias

$7.99

Publication Date: November 1, 2022

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 9 to 14

A riveting middle grade nonfiction WWII account of survival at sea—Book 4 in the True Rescue series from Michael J. Tougias, the author of the New York Times bestseller The Finest Hours.

On May 19, 1942, during WWII, a U-boat in the Gulf of Mexico stalked its prey fifty miles from New Orleans. The submarine set its sights on the freighter Heredia. Most onboard were merchant seamen, but there were also civilians, including the Downs family: Ray and Ina and their two children. Fast asleep in their berths, the Downs family had no idea that two torpedoes were heading their way. When the ship exploded, chaos ensued—and each family member had to find their own path to survival.

This inspiring historical narrative tells the story of the Downs family as they struggle against sharks, hypothermia, drowning, and dehydration in their effort to survive the aftermath of this deadly attack off the American coast. For fans of Refugee and Unbroken.

About the Author

Michael J. Tougias is the author of many true rescue stories, including Into the Blizzard, A Storm Too Soon, and The Finest Hours. A frequent lecturer on his work, Tougias lives in Plymouth, Massachusetts. michaeltougias.com

Alison O'Leary is an award-winning journalist based in New England. She is a former correspondent for the Boston Globe and the author of So Close to Home and Inns and Adventures. alisonoleary.com

Format: Trade Paperback

Length: 224 pages

Publisher: Square Fish

Publication Date: November 1, 2022

ISBN: 9781250853219

Add to wishlist / Add to compare
Copyright 2022 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal Digital Wallet