Anchor Attrib. and Other Stories: Short stories
Anchor Attrib. and Other Stories: Short stories

Attrib. and Other Stories: Short stories

By Eley Williams

$16.00

Publication Date: May 18, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

“It’s just the real inexplicable gorgeous brilliant thing this book. I love it in a way I usually reserve for people.”

—Max Porter

A dazzling, prizewinning short story collection that showcases a bold new talent

Eley Williams has been a literary sensation ever since this collection of experimental short fiction was published in the UK. Lauded as “elegant” (The Guardian) and “exhilarating” (Vanity Fair), Attrib. and Other Stories won the James Tait Black Prize, was longlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize, and was named a best book of the year by The Guardian.

Attrib. presents a cast of unforgettable characters standing at the precipice of emotional events (a disastrous breakup, a successful date, an unexpected arrival) and finding it fiendishly impossible to express themselves. With intimate, irreverent, and playful prose, Eley Williams rejoices in both the possibilities and limitations of language, as well as the very human need to be known and understood—despite our own best efforts.

Original and inventive in the vein of Lydia Davis, Deborah Eisenberg, and Amy Hempel, these stories are “emotionally delicate and tenderly introspective” (New Statesman) and “an absolute must-read” (The London Magazine).

About the Author

ELEY WILLIAMS is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. She is the author of The Liar’s Dictionary,and her work has appeared in The Penguin Book of the Contemporary British Short Story, Liberating the Canon, The Times Literary Supplement, and London Review of Books. She lives in London.

Author Residence: London, England

Format: Trade Paperback

Length: 160 pages

Publisher: Anchor

Publication Date: May 18, 2021

ISBN: 9780593312353

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2021 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal