Amulet Books Avatar, the Last Airbender: The Reckoning of Roku (Chronicles of the Avatar Book 5)
Amulet Books Avatar, the Last Airbender: The Reckoning of Roku (Chronicles of the Avatar Book 5)

Avatar, the Last Airbender: The Reckoning of Roku (Chronicles of the Avatar Book 5)

By Randy Ribay


Publication Date: July 23, 2024

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 13 And Up, Grades 7 And Up

From National Book Award finalist Randy Ribay comes a gripping new chapter—starring Avatar Roku—in the New York Times bestselling Chronicles of the Avatar series, set in the world of Avatar: The Last Airbender and The Legend of Korra

Curse a world that would provide a friend only to snatch him away . . .


Roku never expected to be the Avatar. Even his best friend, Crown Prince Sozin of the Fire Nation, doubts the accuracy of the Fire Sages’ announcement. After all, Sozin is the strongest Firebender of their generation, while Roku struggles to grasp basic airbending principles—even after months of training under Sister Disha, his airbending master.


When Sozin requests the new Avatar’s aid in preventing the Earth Kingdom from claiming a remote Fire Nation island, it doesn’t surprise Roku that Sister Disha advises him to decline. Convinced the Earth King’s aggressive expansion of territory points to a more insidious agenda, Roku steals away with the help of an irritating young Airbender named Gyatso. As the reluctant companions delve deeper into their wayward mission, they realize the fog-shrouded island harbors a secret that could lead to catastrophe in the wrong hands.


Plagued by self-doubt but eager to confront the dangers ahead, Avatar Roku must learn where to place his trust and what it means to be a spirit of no nation . . . even if the lesson comes at a great personal cost.

About the Author

Randy Ribay is an award-winning author of young adult fiction. In addition to The Reckoning of Roku, he is the author of Patron Saints of Nothing, which earned five starred reviews, was selected as a Freeman Book Award winner, and was a finalist for the National Book Award, LA Times Book Prize, Walden Book Award, Edgar Award, International Thriller Writers Award, and the CILIP Carnegie Medal. His other works include Project Kawayan, After the Shot Drops, and An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes. Born in the Philippines and raised in the Midwest, Ribay earned his BA in English Literature from the University of Colorado at Boulder and his Ed.M. in Language and Literacy from Harvard Graduate School of Education. He currently lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with his wife, son, and cat-like dog. Visit him at or on Instagram @randyribay.

Format: Hardcover with dust jacket

Length: 368 pages

Publisher: Amulet Books

Publication Date: July 23, 2024

ISBN: 9781419776038

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2024 Linden Tree Books