Charlesbridge Teen Becoming Beatriz
Charlesbridge Teen Becoming Beatriz

Becoming Beatriz

By Tami Charles


Publication Date: February 1, 2022

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 12 And Up, Grades 7 And Up

“A compelling read about the quest for fame!”

      —Debbie Allen, star of Fame

“Redemption is a heartbeat away.”

      —Guadalupe Garcia McCall, author of the Pura Belpre Award winner Under the Mesquite

Beatriz dreams of a life spent dancing—until tragedy on the day of her quinceañera changes everything.

Up until her fifteenth birthday, the most important thing in the world to Beatriz Mendez was her dream of becoming a professional dancer and getting herself and her family far from the gang life that defined their days—that and meeting her dance idol Debbie Allen on the set of her favorite TV show, Fame. But after the latest battle in a constant turf war leaves her brother, Junito, dead and her mother grieving, Beatriz has a new set of priorities. How is she supposed to feel the rhythm when her brother’s gang needs running, when her mami can’t brush her own teeth, and when the last thing she can remember of her old self is dancing with her brother, followed by running and gunshots? When the class brainiac reminds Beatriz of her love of the dance floor, her banished dreams sneak back in. Now the only question is: will the gang let her go?

Set in New Jersey in 1984, Beatriz’s story is a timeless one of a teenager’s navigation of romance, her brother’s choices, and her own family’s difficult past. A companion novel to the much-lauded Like Vanessa.

Story Locale: Newark, NJ

About the Author

Tami Charles is a former elementary school teacher who now writes full-time and resides in Central New Jersey.

She is the author of Like Vanessa, the Definitely Daphne series, and Freedom Soup.

Author Residence: Colonia, NJ

Author Hometown: Newark & Colonia, NJ

Format: Trade Paperback

Length: 272 pages

Publisher: Charlesbridge Teen

Publication Date: February 1, 2022

ISBN: 9781623541828

Add to wishlist / Add to compare
Copyright 2022 Linden Tree Books