Knopf Books for Young Readers Becoming Vanessa Knopf Books for Young Readers Becoming Vanessa
Knopf Books for Young Readers Becoming Vanessa Knopf Books for Young Readers Becoming Vanessa

Becoming Vanessa

By Vanessa Brantley-Newton

$17.99

Publication Date: June 15, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 3 to 6, Grades K And Under

 

For readers of Alma and How She Got Her Name and The King of Kindergarten, this story will help kids just starting school transform from timid caterpillars into beautiful butterflies so they can love who they are.

On Vanessa’s first day of school, her parents tell her it will be easy to make friends. Vanessa isn’t so sure. She wears her fanciest outfit so her new classmates will notice her right away. They notice, but the attention isn’t what she’d hoped for. As the day goes on, she feels more self-conscious. Her clothes are too bright, her feather boa has way too many feathers, and even her name is too hard to write.

The next day, she picks out a plain outfit, and tells her mom that her name is too long. She just wants to blend in, with a simple name like the other girls—why couldn’t her parents have named her Megan or Bella? But when her mother tells her the meaning behind her name, it gives her the confidence she needs to introduce her classmates to the real Vanessa.


“This classic school story offers a full range of emotions and situates this life-loving Black child in affirming family and school settings. A welcome addition to every shelf.”—Kirkus

“Bright, childlike mixed-media illustrations with a variety of patterns will appeal to youngsters, and the idea of a name having a meaning will be new to many children.”—Booklist

A hopeful celebration of individualism and an ode to recognizing one’s inner specialness.”--Publishers Weekly

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2021 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal