Philomel Books Between Shades of Gray
Philomel Books Between Shades of Gray

Between Shades of Gray

By Ruta Sepetys

$12.99

Publication Date: October 12, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 12 And Up, Grades 7 And Up

Just in time for the 10th anniversary of Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys’s award-winning debut novel, and inspiration for the major motion picture Ashes in the Snow, is now a gorgeous graphic novel!

From #1 New York Times and international bestselling author and Carnegie Medal winner of Salt to the Sea comes a story of loss and of fear—and ultimately of survival—in a brand-new four-color format.

“Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both.”—The Washington Post

A New York Times notable book

An international bestseller

A Carnegie Medal nominee

A William C. Morris Award finalist

A Golden Kite Award winner

June, 1941. A knock comes at the door and the life of fifteen-year-old Lina Vilkas changes forever. She’s arrested by the Soviet secret police and deported from Lithuania to Siberia with her mother and younger brother. The conditions are horrific and Lina must fight for her life and for the lives of those around her, including the boy that she loves. Risking everything, she secretly passes along clues in the form of drawings, hoping they will reach her father’s prison camp. But will her messages, and her courage, be enough to reunite her family? Will they be enough to keep her alive?

A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief, now available as a stunning graphic novel.

About the Author

Ruta Sepetys (rutasepetys.com) is an internationally acclaimed, #1 New York Times bestselling author of historical fiction published in over sixty countries and forty languages. Sepetys is considered a “crossover” novelist, as her books are read by both teens and adults worldwide. Her novels Between Shades of Gray, Out of the Easy, Salt to the Sea, and The Fountains of Silence have won or been shortlisted for more than forty book prizes, and are included on more than sixty state award lists. Between Shades of Gray was adapted into the film Ashes in the Snow, and her other novels are currently in development for TV and film. Winner of the Carnegie Medal, Ruta is passionate about the power of history and literature to foster global awareness and connectivity. She has presented to NATO, to the European Parliament, in the United States Capitol, and at embassies worldwide. Ruta was born and raised in Michigan and now lives with her family in Nashville, Tennessee. Follow her on Instagram @RutaSepetysAuthor and on Facebook at facebook.com/rutasepetys.

Andrew Donkin (andrewdonkin.com) is an award-winning, bestselling writer of graphic novels, books, and comics. His work has sold over ten million copies. His most recent graphic novel, Illegal (co-written with Eoin Colfer), was a bestseller in the USA and UK and has won or been nominated for over thirty-five book awards. He has written for many global franchises, including Batman, Superman, Doctor Who, Teenage Mutant Hero Turtles, and Artemis Fowl. He loves stories, comics, and cake. (Not necessarily in that order.) He lives with his family in London. You can follow Andrew on Twitter @andrewdonkin.

Author Residence: Nashville, TN

Author Hometown: Detroit, Michigan

Dave Kopka (davekopka.com) is an illustrator whose work engages in print media in the form of book art, comics, and portraiture. He is fascinated with exploring the vast spectrums of art and illustration, employing an intricate attention to detail, and aspires to be a creative force in visual narrative through profound storytelling--usually involving the struggle to overcome, and the humor and misfortune behind internal conflict. He currently haunts Oakland, California. You can follow Dave on Twitter @DaveKopka and Instagram @drawkop. Brann Livesay (milkyaway.com) is a concept artist and illustrator with an interest in stylization and social change through art. They currently work full time in video games, but their art has also appeared in comic anthologies, children's apps, and the sticker wall of that one pizza place in San Francisco. Brann was born and raised in the DC metro area but would later move to New York City, Albany, Miami, and finally Oakland, where they reside for now. Their interests include dogs and independently owned doughnut shops, particularly those that carry a strawberry frosted flavor. You can follow Brann on Twitter and Instagram @milkyawayart.

Illustrator Residence: San Francisco, California

Illustrator Hometown: Chicago, Illinois

Format: Trade Paperback

Length: 160 pages

Publisher: Philomel Books

Publication Date: October 12, 2021

ISBN: 9780593404850

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2021 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal