Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Brave Ballerina: The Story of Janet Collins Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Brave Ballerina: The Story of Janet Collins Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Brave Ballerina: The Story of Janet Collins Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Brave Ballerina: The Story of Janet Collins Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Brave Ballerina: The Story of Janet Collins
Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Brave Ballerina: The Story of Janet Collins Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Brave Ballerina: The Story of Janet Collins Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Brave Ballerina: The Story of Janet Collins Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Brave Ballerina: The Story of Janet Collins Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Brave Ballerina: The Story of Janet Collins

Brave Ballerina: The Story of Janet Collins

$17.99

Publication Date: January 08, 2019

+ -
Add to cart
Author: Meadows, Michelle
Details: In stock, arrives in 3-5 business days. In-store pickup available.

 

Ages 4 and Up

 

A lyrical picture book tribute to Janet Collins, the first African American principal dancer at the Metropolitan Opera House.

 

Janet Collins wanted to be a ballerina in the 1930s and 40s, a time when racial segregation was widespread in the United States. Janet pursued dance with a passion, despite being rejected from discriminatory dance schools.

 

When she was accepted into the Ballet Russe de Monte Carlo as a teenager on the condition that she paint her skin white for performances, Janet refused. She continued to go after her dreams, never compromising her values along the way.

 

From her early childhood lessons to the height of her success as the first African American prima ballerina in the Metropolitan Opera, this is the story of a remarkable pioneer.

For fans of Misty Copeland's Firebird and Javaka Steptoe's Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat.

 

0 stars based on 0 reviews
Add to wishlist / Add to comparison
Copyright 2019 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card