HarperCollins Brothers in Arms
HarperCollins Brothers in Arms

Brothers in Arms

By Susan Hood

$18.99

Publication Date: October 4, 2022

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 4 to 8, Grades P to 3

From award-winning author Susan Hood and rising star illustrator Jamie Green comes a nonfiction picture book perfect for fans of Finding Winnie. 

Wojtek was just an orphaned bear cub (yes, an actual wild bear!) when a group of teenaged Polish soldiers, many of whom were orphans themselves, took him into their ranks during World War ll. Wojtek quickly became a beloved and important member of the Polish II Corps. Together with his brothers in arms, Wojtek helped his friends turn the tide of World War II. This incredible true story teaches young readers about the history of World War II while also underscoring the life-changing power of teamwork and the enduring bonds of friendship and love in the face of adversity. Includes extensively researched back matter, including photographs, additional resources, further reading, and more!

About the Author

SUSAN HOOD is the award-winning author of many books for young readers, including Lifeboat 12, Alias Anna, The Last Straw: Kids vs. Plastics, Ada’s Violin, Shaking Things Up, and Titan and the Wild Boars: The True Cave Rescue of the Thai Soccer Team. She is the recipient of an E. B. White Read-Aloud Picture Book Honor, the Christopher Award, the Américas Award for Children’s and Young Adult Literature, the Golden Kite Award, and the Bank Street Flora Stieglitz Straus Award, given annually for “a distinguished work of nonfiction that serves as an inspiration to young people.” Visit her at www.susanhoodbooks.com.JAMIE GREEN is a Greenville-based illustrator, professional curious person, and alum of Ringling College of Art + Design. They have a soft spot for bears but feel thankful they haven’t encountered any on their hikes quite yet! More of Jamie’s work can be found at jamiegreenillustration.com.

Format: Hardcover

Length: 48 pages

Publisher: HarperCollins

Publication Date: October 4, 2022

ISBN: 9780063064768

Add to wishlist / Add to compare
Copyright 2022 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal Digital Wallet