Bloomsbury Children's Books Cameron Battle and the Hidden Kingdoms
Bloomsbury Children's Books Cameron Battle and the Hidden Kingdoms

Cameron Battle and the Hidden Kingdoms

By Jamar J. Perry

$16.99

Publication Date: February 1, 2022

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 8 to 11

Inspired by West African and Igbo mythology, this adventurous middle-grade fantasy debut is perfect for fans of Tristan Strong.

Cameron Battle grew up reading about Chidani—a fabled West African country that cut itself off from the world to protect the Igbo people from the dangerous slave trade centuries ago. After Cameron’s mother and father disappear, The Book of Chidani is the only thing he has left of them.

One night, Cameron's best friends insist on seeing the Book, and they unexpectedly open the barrier between their world and Chidani. The trio is transported to this unknown place, where Cameron learns that as his mother’s heir, he is the Descendant, the only one with the power over the barrier between Chidani and the human world.

But Chidani is in danger, and it’s up to Cameron to save it . . .

From an exciting debut author comes an action-packed middle grade fantasy for readers who wish they could journey to Wakanda.

About the Author

Jamar J. Perry is a debut author and is currently pursuing a PhD in Literary Education, Language, Culture, and Social Inquiry at the University of Maryland, College Park. He taught middle school Language Arts for four years before pursuing his PhD. Like Cameron, he hopes that one day all Black boys can understand how magical and joyful they really are, no matter how different they may feel. @jamarperry

Format: Hardcover with dust jacket

Length: 320 pages

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books

Publication Date: February 1, 2022

ISBN: 9781547606948

Add to wishlist / Add to compare
Copyright 2022 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal Digital Wallet