Dutton Cherish Farrah: A novel Dutton Cherish Farrah: A novel
Dutton Cherish Farrah: A novel Dutton Cherish Farrah: A novel

Cherish Farrah: A novel

By Bethany C. Morrow

$26.00

Publication Date: February 8, 2022

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 3-7 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

TARGET CONSUMER: With a timely plot, chilling voice and exacting prose, CHERISH FARRAH should appeal to fans of Jessica Knoll, Gillian Flynn, and Oyinkan Braithwaite.

From bestselling YA author Bethany C. Morrow comes a new suspense novel, in the vein of Get Out meets My Sister the Serial Killer, about a young calculating Black girl who manipulates her way into the lives of her Black best friend’s white wealthy adopted family; but as she spends more time with the Whitmans, she begins to suspect she may not be the only one with ulterior motives….

Seventeen year-old Farrah Turner is one of two Black girls in her country club community, and the only one with Black parents. Her best friend, Cherish Whitman, adopted by a wealthy white family, is something Farrah likes to call WGS—White Girl Spoiled. With Brianne and Jerry Whitman as parents, Cherish is given the kind of adoration and attention even upper class Black parents can’t seem to afford. When Farrah’s family is unexpectedly confronted with foreclosure, the calculating Farrah—unaccustomed to change and used to being in control—is determined to keep the life she deserves; a life like the Whitmans’. 

As troubled Farrah manipulates her way further into the Whitmans’ lives and home, her efforts revolve around her best friend, Cherish, the only person she loves, even when she hates her. She and Cherish are bound, and as long as Farrah can maintain her bond with Cherish, she can claim control of the life she’s earned and manage her own troubling impulses. But the longer Farrah stays with the Whitmans, the more she notices strange things happening—a lucrative job offer reaching her dad from out of state, strange illnesses, and journals that seem to keep track of all the things happening to Farrah at the Whitman household. As things starts to unravel, and her suspicion of the Whitmans grows, Farrah starts to wonder if their motivations may be even more disturbing than her own. 

Told in Farrah’s chilling, unforgettable voice and weaving in searing social commentary on race, class, and belonging, this crossover slow-burn suspense will keep you on the edge of your seat until the last page.

About the Author

A California native, Bethany Morrow graduated from the University of California, Santa Cruz, with a BA in Sociology. Following undergrad, she studied Clinical Psychological Research at the University of Wales, Bangor, in Great Britain before returning to North America to focus on her literary work.

She is the author of the adult novel Mem, the editor of the young adult anthology Take the Mic, and author of the bestselling young adult novel A Song Below Water.

Twitter: @BCMorrow

Instagram: @BCMorrow

Author Residence: New York State

Author Hometown: California

Format: Hardcover

Length: 336 pages

Publisher: Dutton

Publication Date: February 8, 2022

ISBN: 9780593185384

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2021 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal Digital Wallet