HarperTeen Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl
HarperTeen Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl

Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl

By Joya Goffney

$11.99

Publication Date: April 4, 2023

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 13 And Up, Grades 8 And Up

Now in paperback! Joya Goffney, author of the acclaimed Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry, delivers a powerful second novel about a preacher’s daughter in small-town Texas and her journey toward loving herself and her body; filled with heart, humor, family drama, and a dynamic love triangle. For fans of Not So Pure and Simple by Lamar Giles and Calling My Name by Liara Tamani.

I embrace that I’m not all good either. As far as I can help it, church girls won’t be me. Not anymore.Monique is a preacher’s daughter who detests the impossible rules of her religion. Everyone expects her to wait until marriage, so she has no one to turn to when she discovers that she physically can’t have sex.After two years of trying and failing, her boyfriend breaks up with her. To win him back, Monique teams up with straitlaced church girl Sasha—who is surprisingly knowledgeable about Monique’s condition—as well as Reggie, the misunderstood bad boy who always makes a ruckus at church. Together they embark upon a top secret search for the cure.While on their quest, Monique discovers the value of a true friend and the wonders of a love that accepts her for who she is. Despite everyone’s opinions about her virtue, she learns to live for herself, inspiring us all to reclaim our bodies and unapologetically love ourselves.

About the Author

Joya Goffney grew up in New Waverly, a small town in East Texas. In high school, she challenged herself with to-do lists full of risk-taking items, like “hug a random boy” and “eat a cricket,” which inspired her debut novel, Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry. With a passion for Black social psychology, she moved out of the countryside to attend the University of Texas in Austin, where she still resides.

Format: Paperback

Length: 384 pages

Publisher: HarperTeen

Publication Date: April 4, 2023

ISBN: 9780063024854

Add to wishlist / Add to compare
Copyright 2022 Linden Tree Books