Home » Coo
Greenwillow Books Coo
Greenwillow Books Coo

Coo

By Kaela Noel

$7.99

Publication Date: March 2, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7

In this Top Ten Indie Next Pick, one young girl’s determination to save the flock she calls family creates a lasting impact on her community. Compelling and literary, this is a stunning book about friendship, family, belonging, and love, from a phenomenal new talent. In a starred review, the Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books says that Coo is an “excellent raised-in-the-wild story.”

Ten years ago, an impossible thing happened: a flock of pigeons picked up a human baby who had been abandoned in an empty lot and carried her, bundled in blankets, to their roof. Coo has lived her entire life on the rooftop with the pigeons who saved her. It’s the only home she’s ever known. But then a hungry hawk nearly kills Burr, the pigeon she loves most, and leaves him gravely hurt. Coo must make a perilous trip to the ground for the first time to find Tully, a retired postal worker who occasionally feeds Coo’s flock and can heal injured birds. Tully mends Burr’s broken wing and coaxes Coo from her isolated life. Living with Tully, Coo experiences warmth, safety, and human relationships for the first time. But just as Coo is beginning to blossom, she learns that the human world is infinitely more complex—and cruel—than she could have imagined.This remarkable debut novel will captivate readers from the very first line. Coo examines the bonds that make us family, the possibilities of love, and the importance of being true to yourself. Fans of Katherine Applegate, Kate DiCamillo, and Barbara O’Connor will devour this extraordinary story.Features black-and-white art throughout.

About the Author

Kaela Noel was born in San Francisco and grew up in New Jersey. She now lives in Brooklyn, New York, where she works as a proofreader and editor. Coo is her first novel.www.kaelanoel.com

Format: Paperback

Length: 432 pages

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

ISBN: 9780062955982

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2021 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal