Balzer + Bray Dear Sweet Pea
Balzer + Bray Dear Sweet Pea

Dear Sweet Pea

By Julie Murphy

$7.99

Publication Date: February 2, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7

The acclaimed middle grade debut from Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’, about a sixth grader who navigates her parents’ unconventional divorce and finds herself in the unlikely role of the town’s advice columnist. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead, Ali Benjamin, and Holly Goldberg Sloan. Now in paperback!

Patricia “Sweet Pea” DiMarco wasn’t sure what to expect when her parents announced they were getting a divorce. She never could have imagined that they would have the “brilliant” idea of living in nearly identical houses on the same street. In the one house between them lives their eccentric neighbor Miss Flora Mae, the famed local advice columnist behind Miss Flora Mae I? Dividing time between two homes is not easy. And it doesn’t help that at school, Sweet Pea is now sitting right next to her ex–best friend, Kiera, a daily reminder of the friendship that once was. Things might be unbearable if Sweet Pea didn’t have Oscar—her new best friend—and her fifteen-pound cat, Cheese. Then one day Flora leaves for a trip and asks Sweet Pea to forward her the letters for the column. Sweet Pea happens to recognize the handwriting on one of the envelopes. What she decides to do with that letter sets off a chain of events that will forever change the lives of Sweet Pea DiMarco, her family, and many of the readers of Miss Flora Mae I?

About the Author

Julie Murphy lives in North Texas with her husband, who loves her; her dog, who adores her; and her cats, who tolerate her. After several wonderful years in the library world, Julie now writes full-time. When she’s not writing or reliving her reference-desk glory days, she can be found watching made-for-TV movies, hunting for the perfect slice of cheese pizza, or planning her next great travel adventure. She is also the author of the young adult novels Faith, Puddin’, Ramona Blue, Side Effects May Vary, and Dumplin’ (now a Netflix original film). This is her first book for middle grade readers. You can visit Julie at www.imjuliemurphy.com.

Format: Paperback

Length: 288 pages

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

ISBN: 9780062473080

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2021 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal