Kokila Doodles from the Boogie Down
Kokila Doodles from the Boogie Down

Doodles from the Boogie Down

By Stephanie Rodriguez

$13.99

Publication Date: April 25, 2023

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 9 to 12, Grades 4 to 7

A young Dominican girl navigates middle school, her strict mother, shifting friendships, and her dream of being an artist in this debut coming-of-age graphic novel inspired by the author's tween years.

Eighth grade in New York City means one thing: It’s time to start applying to high schools! While her friends are looking at school catalogs and studying for entrance exams, Steph is doodling in her notebook and waiting for art class to begin. When her art teacher tells her about LaGuardia High School of Music & Art and Performing Arts, Steph desperately wants to apply. But she’s in the Bronx, and LaGuardia is a public school in Manhattan—which her mom would not approve of. Steph comes up with a plan that includes lying to her mom, friends, and teachers. Keeping secrets isn’t easy, and Steph must decide how far she’ll go to get what she wants.

Doodles from the Boogie Down is a sparkling semi-autobiographical middle grade graphic novel debut set in the early aughts that's perfect for fans of Sunny Side Up by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm and Real Friends by Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham.

Story Locale:Bronx, NY

About the Author

Stephanie Rodriguez is a Bronx-born comic book artist and illustrator. She graduated from the School of Visual Arts in 2011 with a BFA in illustration. Stephanie creates illustrations and self-published comics depicting the highs and lows of everyday life. Her work has been featured on BuzzFeed, Remezcla, VaynerMedia, and NPR. Doodles from the Boogie Down is her debut middle grade graphic novel.

 

Author Residence: Los Angeles, CA

Author Hometown: Bronx, NY

Format: Trade Paperback

Length: 208 pages

Publisher: Kokila

Publication Date: April 25, 2023

ISBN: 9780451480668

Add to wishlist / Add to compare
Copyright 2022 Linden Tree Books