Greenwillow Books Dough Boys Greenwillow Books Dough Boys
Greenwillow Books Dough Boys Greenwillow Books Dough Boys

Dough Boys

By Paula Chase

$7.99

Publication Date: August 25, 2020

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7

The companion to So Done, Paula Chase’s acclaimed middle grade debut. Dough Boys is a memorably vivid story about the complex friendship between two African American boys whose lives are heading down very different paths. For fans of Jason Reynolds’s Ghost and Rebecca Stead’s Goodbye Stranger.

Deontae “Simp” Wright has big plans for his future. Plans that involve basketball, his best friend, Rollie, and making enough money to get his mom and four younger brothers out of the Cove, their low-income housing project. Long term, this means the NBA. Short term, it means being a dough boy—getting paid to play lookout and eventually moving up the rungs of the neighborhood drug operation with Rollie as his partner.Rolland “Rollie” Matthews used to love playing basketball. He loved the rhythm of the game; it’s how he came up with his best drumbeats after running up and down the court. But playing with the elite team comes with extra, illegal responsibilities, and Rollie isn’t sure he’s down for that life. The new talented-and-gifted program, where Rollie has a chance to audition for a real-life go-go band, seems like the perfect excuse to stop being a dough boy. But how can he abandon his best friend?In the companion to her acclaimed middle-grade debut, So Done, Paula Chase explores universal themes of friendship and budding romance, while also exploring complex issues that affect many young teens. Full of basketball, friendship, and daily life in a housing project, this universal story is perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds’s Track series, Jewell Parker Rhodes’s Ghost Boys, and Kwame Alexander’s Solo.

About the Author

Paula Chase is the author of several books for teens. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked as a cheerleading coach and in public relations for a tech company. She is the cofounder of The Brown Bookshelf, a site designed to increase awareness of African American voices writing for young readers. She is the author of So Done. She lives in Annapolis, Maryland.

Format: Paperback

Length: 352 pages

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Publication Date: August 25, 2020

ISBN: 9780062691828

Add to wishlist / Add to comparison

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2020 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal