Eleanor Roosevelt Eleanor Roosevelt
Eleanor Roosevelt Eleanor Roosevelt

Eleanor Roosevelt

By Aura Lewis


Publication Date: February 28, 2023

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 5 to 9

Discover the early years of Eleanor Roosevelt and how her childhood inspired a life devoted to compassionate public service. 

​Eleanor Roosevelt’s childhood was challenging. When she was young, both of her parents died and she was sent to live with her grandmother, who showed her little affection. Despite her grief, Eleanor persevered: she attended a boarding school in England, where she found a true home under the care of a nurturing teacher.  

Eleanor soon blossomed into a strong leader, supporting her struggling classmates. These formative years inspired her sense of compassion and responsibility, setting Eleanor on a path to a lifetime of helping others.  

With a kind heart and a fierce devotion to hard work, Eleanor Roosevelt became a visionary known for her outspoken activism and public service. This thoughtful story honors her groundbreaking life while also celebrating the spirit of her legacy.

About the Author

Helaine Becker is the acclaimed author of many books for young readers, including An Equal Shot and Counting on Katherine, both illustrated by Dow Phumiruk. Counting on Katherine won a Bank Street College Cook Prize for nonfiction, as well as many other honors. Helaine lives in Toronto, Canada. She invites you to visit her website, helainebecker.com.

Aura Lewis is an author-illustrator and designer with an MFA from the School of Visual Arts in New York City. She is the creator of Spectacular Sisters, Gloria’s Voice, and The Illustrated Feminist. She invites you to see more of her work at auralewis.com, or on Twitter and Instagram: @auralewis.

Format: Hardcover Picture Book

Length: 32 pages

Publisher: Christy Ottaviano Books

Publication Date: February 28, 2023

ISBN: 9780316316415

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2024 Linden Tree Books