HarperCollins Finding Junie Kim
HarperCollins Finding Junie Kim

Finding Junie Kim

By Ellen Oh

$16.99

Publication Date: May 4, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7

Junie Kim just wants to fit in. From We Need Diverse Books cofounder Ellen Oh comes a relatable and powerful own voices tween novel about Junie’s road to embracing herself and her Korean heritage. This book was inspired by Oh’s family’s real-life experiences facing both modern-day racism and heartache and bravery during the Korean War. Perfect for fans of Other Words for Home and When My Name Was Keoko.

A captivating coming-of-age, own voices novel about Korean American Junie Kim. While facing racist vandalism at her middle school, Junie learns of her grandparents’ experiences as lost children during the Korean War and finds her inner strength.Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps her head down and tries not to draw attention to herself. But when racist graffiti appears at her middle school, Junie must decide between staying silent or speaking out.Then Junie’s history teacher assigns an oral history project—and when Junie decides to interview her grandparents, she soon uncovers their unbelievable tales of bravery as kids during the Korean War.Junie must find the courage to do what is right, just as her grandparents did. And as racism becomes more pervasive at school, Junie now knows what she must do.From We Need Diverse Books cofounder Ellen Oh comes an extraordinary story about a girl who must find her family’s past to embrace the present, finding herself along the way.

About the Author

Ellen Oh is the cofounder of We Need Diverse Books and author of the Spirit Hunters series and The Dragon Egg Princess for middle grade and the Prophecy trilogy (Prophecy, Warrior, and King) for young adults. Ellen is a former adjunct college instructor and lawyer with an insatiable curiosity for ancient Asian history. Originally from New York City, Ellen lives in Bethesda, Maryland, with her husband and three children. You can visit her online at www.ellenoh.com.

Format: Hardcover

Length: 368 pages

Publisher: HarperCollins

Publication Date: May 4, 2021

ISBN: 9780062987983

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2021 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal