Versify Finish the Fight!: ...Women Who Fought for the Right to Vote
Versify Finish the Fight!: ...Women Who Fought for the Right to Vote

Finish the Fight!: ...Women Who Fought for the Right to Vote

By Veronica Chambers

$18.99

Publication Date: August 18, 2020

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7

Who was at the forefront of women's right to vote? We know a few famous names, like Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, but what about so many others from diverse backgrounds—black, Asian, Latinx, Native American, and more—who helped lead the fight for suffrage? On the hundredth anniversary of the historic win for women's rights, it's time to celebrate the names and stories of the women whose stories have yet to be told.

Gorgeous portraits accompany biographies of such fierce but forgotten women as Yankton Dakota Sioux writer and advocate Zitkála-Šá, Mary Eliza Church Terrell, who cofounded the National Association of Colored Women (NACW), and Mabel Ping-Hua Lee, who, at just sixteen years old, helped lead the biggest parade in history to promote the cause of suffrage.

FINISH THE FIGHT will fit alongside important collections that tell the full story of America's fiercest women. Perfect for fans of GOOD NIGHT STORIES FOR REBEL GIRLS and BAD GIRLS THROUGHOUT HISTORY.

About the Author

Veronica Chambers is the editor of Past Tense at The New York Times. She recently created the anthology "The Meaning of Michelle," a collection by 16 writers celebrating the former first lady, and edited the upcoming "Queen Bey: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter." She is a prolific author, best known for her critically acclaimed memoir, Mama's Girl. Born in Panama and raised in Brooklyn, she writes often about her Afro-Latina heritage. She speaks, reads, and writes Spanish, but she is truly fluent in Spanglish. She is currently a JSK Knight fellow at Stanford University. www.veronicachambers.com, Twitter: @vvchambers, Instagram: @vvchambers

Format: Hardcover Paper over boards

Length: 144 pages

Publisher: Versify

Publication Date: August 18, 2020

ISBN: 9780358408307

Add to wishlist / Add to comparison

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2020 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal