Fox and I

By Catherine Raven

$27.00

Publication Date: July 6, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

A memoir about the friendship between a solitary woman and a fox, for readers of Wild and H Is for Hawk.

Catherine Raven left home at fifteen, fleeing an abusive, disdainful father and an indifferent mother. More comfortable in nature than among people, she worked as a National Park ranger, eventually earning a PhD in biology. She built a house on an isolated plot of land in Montana, teaching remotely and leading field classes. One day, she realized that the mangy-looking fox who had been appearing on her property was now showing up every day at 4:15 p.m. She had never had a regular visitor before. How do you even talk to a fox? One day she brought out her camping chair, sat as close to him as she dared, and began reading to him from The Little Prince. Her scientific training had taught her not to anthropomorphize animals, but as she grew to know him, his personality revealed itself—and he became her friend. But friends cannot always save each other from the uncontained forces of nature. Fox and I is a poignant and dramatic tale of friendship, transformation, and coping with inevitable loss—and of how that loss can become meaning. It is also the introduction of an original, imaginative, stunning literary voice.

About the Author

Catherine Raven is a biologist and former National Park Ranger at Glacier, Mount Rainier, North Cascades, Voyagers, and Yellowstone National Parks whose natural history essays have appeared in American Scientist, Journal of American Mensa, and Montana Magazine. She is a professor at South University in Savannah, Georgia. Author Residence: Emigrant, Montana.

Format: Hardcover

Length: 304 pages

Publisher: Spiegel & Grau

Publication Date: July 6, 2021

ISBN: 9781954118003

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2021 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal