Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Happy Diwali!
Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Happy Diwali!

Happy Diwali!

By Sanyukta Mathur

$18.99

Publication Date: September 28, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 4 to 8

A vibrant holiday picture book about Diwali, the Hindu festival of lights.

Wake up, it's Diwali!

This joyful family story follows a little girl from dawn to dusk as she draws rangolis to welcome guests, cooks pani puri and chana masala, dresses up in beautiful colors, participates in the puja, and lights the diyas in honor of Diwali: the Hindu festival of lights.

Held over the months of October and November, Diwali celebrates the triumph of good over evil, knowledge over ignorance, and light over darkness. This holiday story conveys both the excitement and the rich traditions of Diwali. Complete with a glossary of ceremonial terms and a delicious lassi recipe, this is an excellent choice for story time in classrooms, homes, and libraries nationwide. For readers of Fry Bread and Ruby's Chinese New Year.

Christy Ottaviano Books

About the Author

Sanyukta Mathur and Courtney Pippin-Mathur are sisters-in-law who celebrate Diwali together with their families. Courtney is the author-illustrator of Maya Was Grumpy and Dragons Rule, Princesses Drool, which Booklist praised as "A delight from start to finish . . . and its empowering conclusion is a welcome bonus." She lives in Alexandria, VA. pippinmathur.com

Format: Hardcover Picture Book

Length: 40 pages

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Publication Date: September 28, 2021

ISBN: 9781250257468

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2021 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal