HarperCollins Elementals: Ice Wolves
HarperCollins Elementals: Ice Wolves

Elementals: Ice Wolves

By Amie Kaufman

$16.99

Publication Date: March, 2018

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually ships within 7-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

 

Age 8 to 12

 

For fans of Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire comes Elementals: Ice Wolves, the first book in an electrifying new fantasy series about children who can shape-shift into scorch dragons and ice wolves. This marks the middle grade debut of New York Times bestselling and internationally renowned author Amie Kaufman.

 

Everyone in Vallen knows that ice wolves and scorch dragons are sworn enemies who live deeply separate lives.

 

So when twelve-year-old orphan Anders takes one elemental form and his twin sister, Rayna, takes another, he has to question whether they are even related.

 

Still, whether or not they’re family, Anders knows that Rayna is his best and only true friend. She’s nothing like the brutal, cruel dragons who claimed her as one of their own and stole her away.

 

In order to rescue her, Anders will have to enlist at the foreboding Ulfar Academy, a school for young wolves that values loyalty to the pack above all else. But for Anders, loyalty is more complicated than blind obedience, and friendship is the most powerful shape-shifting force of all.

 

New York Times bestselling author Amie Kaufman delivers heart-pounding adventure and breathtaking magical inventions in this unforgettable story about finding one’s place in a sharply divided world.

 

12-09-2018 20:55

 I think the title, Elementals: Ice Wolves, instantly gets you hooked.  Are the wolves made of ice? Is it a elemental that turns into a wolf? What is an elemental? Also, there are runes (I think they are) or some other symbols that add a touch of questioning, what do they mean?  In the book, it starts with, "'Rayna was confidently leading THEM in the wrong direction."' This tells you something about the character, Rayna, and the narrator.  They have some relationship, friends, brother and sisters, etc.  I really like the characters, Rayna and Anders.  They are homeless and thieves, so they've had a challenging life.  In the first few pages, it mention dragons and that they haven't bean seen in Holbard for 10 years.  Why are they back now? When Anders and Rayna are alive, do they have some sort of connection?  Another thing, they get separated when they try for their transformation.  Anders becomes a wolf, while Rayna is a dragon. This starts their epic adventure. The book is full of action, adventure, friendship, loyalty, and betrayal.  The book ends with Anders defending the dragons because he knows that the wolves have false information regarding them.  He has a special power, but he sends the wolves retreating, even his friends.  Anders has a turmoil of emotions, because he tells himself that he can't have friends because they will distract him from his goal, but he ends up making friends.  The book ends on a cliff hanger, so there could be another one.  All all I would rate this book a 5/5 because I really like the story, the characters, and the secrets and other hidden things.  What are the Wolves not telling them?  -Sam

5 stars based on 1 reviews
Add to wishlist / Add to comparison

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2020 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal