Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Legacy of Orisha 01 Children of Blood and Bone
Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Legacy of Orisha 01 Children of Blood and Bone

Legacy of Orisha 01 Children of Blood and Bone

By Tomi Adeyemi

$18.99

Publication Date: March 06, 2018

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

 

Ages 15+ 

 

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

 

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

 

Now we rise.

 

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

 

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

 

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

 

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

 

"A phenomenon." Entertainment Weekly

 

“The epic I’ve been waiting for.” New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

 

“You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!” New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

 

“The next big thing in literature and film.” Ebony

 

“One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear.” Teen Vogue

 

This title has Common Core connections.

 

13-09-2018 22:28

This is one of my absolute favorite fantasy books of all time! A diverse, page-turning read, Children of Blood and Bone follows Zélie as she journeys on a dangerous quest to bring magic back to her people. The magi have been oppressed for years by the evil King of Orisha, who fears their potential powers. When hope of restoring magic returns, the king's children, Amari and Inan, who have witnessed the horrors he inflicts on his own people, must decide which side they choose to fight for. The novel is narrated alternatively by Zélie, Amari, and Inan, all distinct, layered characters you'll be both rooting for and screaming at through every new trial and plot twist. Far from conquering every challenge against all odds, they make bad decisions, have real fears, and face moral dilemmas, making them not only relatable, but lovable. Every one of these 543 pages lives up to the hype, and I can't wait for the next book in the series! - Mihika

5 stars based on 1 reviews
Add to wishlist / Add to comparison

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2020 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal