Quill Tree Books How to Be a Girl in the World
Quill Tree Books How to Be a Girl in the World

How to Be a Girl in the World

By Caela Carter

$16.99

Publication Date: August 11, 2020

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7

For fans of Rebecca Stead and Corey Ann Haydu comes critically acclaimed author Caela Carter’s timely story about a tween girl coming to terms with her changing body and the recent attention she’s been getting from boys.

Lydia hasn’t been comfortable in her own skin since the end of sixth grade, when the boys at her school started commenting on the way she looks in her uniform. Lydia’s friends and cousin, Emma, think she should be flattered but the comments make Lydia feel uncomfortable and confused. To deal with it all, Lydia tries to be invisible by layering her clothes even in the summer and reading horror novels to escape her real-life fears.Then her mom surprises her by buying a dilapidated house in their neighborhood. She’s certain it holds the magic she needs to protect herself, especially when she discovers a book of spells. But when the magic Lydia deeply believes in eventually loses its power to keep her safe, she isn’t sure what else to do . . . except try to figure out how to be a girl in a complex, messy world.

About the Author

Caela Carter has written three books for middle grade readers, My Life with the Liars, ALA Notable Forever, Or a Long, Long Time, and One Speck of Truth. This is her fourth. Caela lives in Brooklyn.

Format: Hardcover

Length: 304 pages

Publisher: Quill Tree Books

Publication Date: August 11, 2020

ISBN: 9780062672704

Add to wishlist / Add to comparison

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2020 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal