G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers How To Succeed in Witchcraft
G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers How To Succeed in Witchcraft

How To Succeed in Witchcraft

By Aislinn Brophy

$18.99

Publication Date: September 27, 2022

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 12 And Up, Grades 7 And Up

An overachieving teen witch vies for a prestigious scholarship at her elite high school in this contemporary YA fantasy for fans of Never Have I Ever and Sabrina the Teen Witch.

 

“This book is captivating, romantic and deeply powerful—it left me wanting more!" —Aiden Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of Cemetery Boys

Magically brilliant, academically perfect, chronically overcommitted—

 

Shay Johnson has all the makings of a successful witch. As a junior at T.K. Anderson Magical Magnet School, she’s determined to win the Brockton Scholarship—her ticket into the university of her dreams. Her competition? Ana freaking Álvarez. The key to victory? Impressing Mr. B, drama teacher and head of the scholarship committee.

 

When Mr. B asks Shay to star in this year’s aggressively inclusive musical, she warily agrees, even though she’ll have to put up with Ana playing the other lead. But in rehearsals, Shay realizes Ana is . . . not the despicable witch she’d thought. Perhaps she could be a friend—or more. And Shay could use someone in her corner once she becomes the target of Mr. B’s unwanted attention. When Shay learns she’s not the first witch to experience his inappropriate behavior, she must decide if she’ll come forward. But how can she speak out when her future's on the line?

"Come for the crackling queer banter, stay for the history of magic (steeped in shrewd social consciousness).” —Ryan Douglass, New York Times bestselling author of The Taking of Jake Livingston

Story Locale:An alternate, magical Florida

About the Author

Aislinn Brophy (she/they) is an actor, writer, and arts administrator based in the Atlanta area. She was born and raised in South Florida, but made her way up to the frigid northeast for college. Their hobbies include pawning off their baking on anybody nearby, doing funny voices, and dismantling the patriarchy. Aislinn has a degree in Theater, Dance & Media, and her experiences as a performer consistently wiggle their way into her writing. In all aspects of her work as an artist, she is passionate about exploring identity and social justice issues. Their debut YA novel, How To Succeed in Witchcraft, will be published fall 2022, with a second untitled novel to follow.

Author Residence: Atlanta, GA

Format: Hardcover

Length: 416 pages

Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: September 27, 2022

ISBN: 9780593354520

Add to wishlist / Add to compare
Copyright 2022 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal Digital Wallet