HarperCollins Hundred Years of Happiness
HarperCollins Hundred Years of Happiness

Hundred Years of Happiness

By Thanhha Lai

$17.99

Publication Date: April 5, 2022

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 3-7 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 4 to 8, Grades P to 3

A stunning picture book debut showcasing the love between grandparents and grandchildren, the challenges of memory loss, and the joy that sweet reminders of a faraway home can bring, from award-winning, bestselling author Thanhhà Lại.

This sweet and emotional picture book will resonate with readers who love A Big Mooncake for Little Star, Ladder to the Moon, and Thank You, Omu!An’s grandmother Bà sometimes gets trapped in her cloudy memories. An and her grandfather, Ông, come up with a plan to bring her back to a happy moment: They grow gấc fruits so they can make xôi gấc, Bà’s favorite dish from her wedding in Vietnam many years ago.An and Ông work together in the garden, nurturing the gấc seeds. They must be patient and wait for the seeds to grow, flower, and turn into fruit. When the xôi gấc is finally ready, An is hopeful that her grandmother will remember her wedding wish with Ông: hundred years of happiness.Striking and vivid illustrations bring this tender story of a loving, intergenerational Vietnamese family to life.

About the Author

Thanhhà Lại is the bestselling, National Book Award– and Newbery Honor–winning author of Inside Out and Back Again. She lives in New York. www.thanhhalai.comIllustrator team Phung Nguyên Quang and Huynh Kim Liên create their stunning artwork from their Saigon studio, using a mix of watercolor, acrylic, and digital media.

Format: Hardcover

Length: 32 pages

Publisher: HarperCollins

Publication Date: April 5, 2022

ISBN: 9780063026926

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2021 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal Digital Wallet