Basic Books Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid: The Fraught & Fascinating Biology of Climate Change
Basic Books Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid: The Fraught & Fascinating Biology of Climate Change

Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid: The Fraught & Fascinating Biology of Climate Change

By Thor Hanson

$28.00

Publication Date: September 28, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

A beloved natural historian explores how climate change is driving evolution

In Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid, biologist Thor Hanson tells the remarkable story of how plants and animals are responding to climate change: adjusting, evolving, and sometimes dying out. Anole lizards have grown larger toe pads, to grip more tightly in frequent hurricanes. Warm waters cause the development of Humboldt squid to alter so dramatically that fishermen mistake them for different species. Brown pelicans move north, and long-spined sea urchins south, to find cooler homes. And when coral reefs sicken, they leave no territory worth fighting for, so aggressive butterfly fish transform instantly into pacifists.

A story of hope, resilience, and risk, Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid is natural history for readers of Bernd Heinrich, Robin Wall Kimmerer, and David Haskell. It is also a reminder of how unpredictable climate change is as it interacts with the messy lattice of life.

About the Author

Thor Hanson is a conservation biologist, Guggenheim Fellow, and author of award winning books including Buzz, Feathers, The Impenetrable Forest, and The Triumph of Seeds. He lives with his wife and son on an island in Washington State.

www.thorhanson.net

Format: Hardcover

Length: 304 pages

Publisher: Basic Books

Publication Date: September 28, 2021

ISBN: 9781541672420

Add to wishlist / Add to compare
Copyright 2022 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal Digital Wallet