Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) In Harm's Way (Young Readers Edition)
Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) In Harm's Way (Young Readers Edition)

In Harm's Way (Young Readers Edition)

By Michael J. Tougias

$19.99

Publication Date: February 8, 2022

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 9 to 14

A middle-grade edition of the New York Times nonfiction bestseller, and book five in the True Rescue series—a riveting WWII account of the greatest maritime disaster in US naval history.

On July 30, 1945, the U.S.S. Indianapolis was torpedoed in the South Pacific by a Japanese submarine. An estimated 300 men were killed upon impact; close to 900 sailors were cast into the Pacific Ocean, where they remained undetected by the navy for nearly four days. Battered by a savage sea, they struggled to fight off sharks, hypothermia, and hallucinations. By the time rescue arrived, all but 316 men had died. The disaster left many questions unanswered: How did the navy fail to realize the Indianapolis was missing? Why was it traveling unescorted in enemy waters? And most amazing of all, how did 316 men manage to survive?

Bestselling authors Doug Stanton and Michael J. Tougias adapt this thrilling tale of heroism and survival for young readers. For fans of The Finest Hours and I Survived.

About the Author

A former contributing editor at Esquire and Outside, Doug Stanton is now a contributing editor at Men's Journal. He received an M.F.A. from the Writers' Workshop at the University of Iowa. He is the New York Times–bestselling author of In Harm's Way. dougstanton.com

Michael J. Tougias is the author of many award-winning true rescue stories, including the New York Times–

bestseller The Finest Hours, A Storm Too Soon, Into the Blizzard, and Attacked at Sea. michaeltougias.com

Format: Hardcover with dust jacket

Length: 240 pages

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Publication Date: February 8, 2022

ISBN: 9781250771322

Add to wishlist / Add to compare
Copyright 2022 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal Digital Wallet