Dial Books In Honor of Broken Things
Dial Books In Honor of Broken Things

In Honor of Broken Things

By Paul Acampora

$17.99

Publication Date: March 8, 2022

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7

Three unlikely friends become partners in heartbreak and hope during a middle school pottery class in this powerful, poignant novel—perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

At West Beacon Middle School, eighth graders Oscar Villanueva, Ellie Baptiste, and Noah Wright become unlikely friends during Introduction to Clay class. Oscar, a football star, just lost his little sister to cancer. Ellie’s been dragged away from Philadelphia by her single mom to a new life in West Beacon, a tiny Pennsylvania coal town that’s smaller than Ellie’s old school. Noah’s spent his whole life as a homeschooler and just started West Beacon Middle School as a result of his parents’ train wreck of a divorce. Through art, football, failure, faith, and trust, the friends help one another to piece things back together again. In true friendship, they also discover that some injuries may never heal, some things can never be unbroken—and that’s okay too.

Story Locale: fictional, contemporary small Pennsylvania mining town

About the Author

Paul Acampora has written numerous novels and short stories for young readers. Kids, parents, and critics praise his work for its laugh-out-loud humor, rollicking dialogue, and heartfelt characters. Paul is a dad, husband, former kindergarten teacher, and full-time development professional now living in Pennsylvania’s Lehigh Valley.

Author Residence: Allentown, PA

Author Hometown: Bristol, CT

Format: Hardcover

Length: 208 pages

Publisher: Dial Books

Publication Date: March 8, 2022

ISBN: 9781984816641

Add to wishlist / Add to compare
Copyright 2022 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal Digital Wallet