First Second In Limbo: A Graphic Memoir
First Second In Limbo: A Graphic Memoir

In Limbo: A Graphic Memoir

By Deb JJ Lee

$17.99

Publication Date: March 7, 2023

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 14 to 18

A debut YA graphic memoir about a Korean American girl's coming-of-age story—and a coming-home story—set between a New Jersey suburb and Seoul, South Korea.

Deborah (Jung-Jin) Lee knows she's different. Ever since her family emigrated from South Korea to the United States, she's felt her Otherness. And as the pressures of high school ramp up, friendships change or end and everything gets harder. Even home isn't a safe place, as fights with her mom escalate. Deb is caught in a limbo, with nowhere to go.

But Deb is resilient. And during a trip to South Korea, she realizes something that changes her perspective on her family, her heritage, and herself.

This stunning debut graphic memoir features page after page of gorgeous, evocative art, perfect for Tillie Walden fans. It's a cross section of the Korean American diaspora and mental health, a moving and powerful read in the vein of Hey, Kiddo and The Best We Could Do.

About the Author

Deb JJ Lee is a Korean-born author and illustrator. Her clients include The New Yorker, Washington Post, NPR, Facebook, Radiolab, Scientific American, and PBS. Books she has illustrated include The Invisible Boy by Alyssa Hollingsworth and The Tune Without Words by Tina Cho. In Limbo is her debut graphic novel memoir. debleeart.com

Format: Paperback - with flaps

Length: 352 pages

Publisher: First Second

Publication Date: March 7, 2023

ISBN: 9781250252661

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2024 Linden Tree Books