Quill Tree Books In the Beautiful Country
Quill Tree Books In the Beautiful Country

In the Beautiful Country

By Jane Kuo

$16.99

Publication Date: June 28, 2022

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7

This emotional debut novel in verse, inspired by the author’s own experiences, is about a young Taiwanese girl who emigrates to America and finds a stark difference between her dreams and her reality.

Anna is counting the days until her family gets to move to America—the so-called beautiful country—though she’s only ever known life in Taiwan.But the beautiful country isn’t at all what Anna pictured. Her family can only afford a cramped one-bedroom apartment. Anna is bullied and lost at school because she doesn’t understand the new language. And the restaurant her father poured his savings into is struggling to stay afloat. Why is the version of America Anna and her family are experiencing anything but beautiful?This lyrical and emotionally nuanced story, perfect for fans of Inside Out and Back Again, is about the struggle to make a place for yourself in the world and what it truly means to have a home.

Format: Hardcover

Length: 320 pages

Publisher: Quill Tree Books

Publication Date: June 28, 2022

ISBN: 9780063118980

Add to wishlist / Add to compare
Copyright 2022 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal Digital Wallet