Into the Winds

By Carrie Ryan


Publication Date: January 24, 2023

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 14 And Up, Grades 9 And Up

Eleven members of wilderness expedition WILD-596 entered the mountain pass. Only one would return. Bestselling author Carrie Ryan will be the first to tell their little-known story in this cunning and layered nesting-doll story.

Nine students and two instructors set out on a six-week-long wilderness expedition into the Wind River Range of the Rocky Mountains. Only one returned alive.

On May 14, 1996, a group of students arrived at the Wilderness Intensive Learning and Development (WILD) outpost in Ames River, Wyoming. When the van arrived at the trailhead to pick them up a month and a half later, the team, known as WILD-596, was nowhere to be found. In the end, only one of the missing hikers was found alive--Josh Otero. The remaining ten members of WILD-596 died in the Wyoming wilderness.

Through extensive research using journals, documents, and interviews, Carrie Ryan has crafted a riveting page-turner, bringing a fiction writer's touch to tell the little-known story of the tragic events of those six weeks and the courageous will to survive exhibited by the team members of WILD-596.

About the Author

Carrie Ryan is the New York Times bestselling author of the Forest of Hands and Teeth series, Daughter of Deep Silence, and Infinity Ring: Divide and Conquer as well as the editor of Foretold: 14 Tales of Prophecy and Prediction. She's also the co-author, with her husband, of the Map to Everywhere middle-grade series. Her books have sold in over 22 territories and her first book is in development as a major motion picture. A former litigator, Carrie now lives in Charlotte, NC, with her husband and various pets. You can find her online at or on Twitter at @CarrieRyan.

Author Residence: Charlotte, NC

Format: Hardcover

Length: 384 pages

Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: January 24, 2023

ISBN: 9780525426516

Add to wishlist / Add to compare
Copyright 2023 Linden Tree Books