Knopf Books for Young Readers Just Like Me
Knopf Books for Young Readers Just Like Me

Just Like Me

By Vanessa Newton

$17.99

Publication Date: January 14, 2020

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 4 to 8, Grades P to 3

An ode to the girl with scrapes on her knees and flowers in her hair, and every girl in between, this exquisite treasury will appeal to readers of Dear Girl and I Am Enough and have kids poring over it to find a poem that’s just for them.

I am a canvas

Being painted on

By the words of my family

Friends

And community

From Vanessa Brantley-Newton, the author of Grandma’s Purse, comes a collection of poetry filled with engaging mini-stories about girls of all kinds: girls who feel happy, sad, scared, powerful; girls who love their bodies and girls who don’t; country girls, city girls; girls who love their mother and girls who wish they had a father. With bright portraits in Vanessa’s signature style of vibrant colors and unique patterns and fabrics, this book invites readers to find themselves and each other within its pages.

“A dynamic, uplifting, and welcoming world of girls.”—Kirkus

“Thoughtful, inclusive, and celebratory”—Publishers Weekly

“Bursting with positivity, this would be a great book to use in primary school classrooms when discussing issues of friendship, diversity, and self-esteem.”—Booklist

About the Author

Vanessa Brantley-Newton is a self-taught illustrator, doll maker, and crafter who studied fashion illustration at FIT and children’s book illustration at the School of Visual Arts in New York. She is the author and illustrator of Grandma’s Purse and has illustrated numerous children’s books, including Sewing Stories by Barbara Herkert. Vanessa currently makes her nest in Charlotte, North Carolina, with her husband, daughter, and a very rambunctious cat named Stripes. Learn more about Vanessa and her artwork at VanessaBrantleyNewton.com and on Facebook.

Author Residence: Charlotte, NC

Format: Hardcover

Length: 32 pages

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: January 14, 2020

ISBN: 9780525582090

Add to wishlist / Add to comparison

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2020 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal