Balzer + Bray Maryam’s Magic: The Story of Mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani
Balzer + Bray Maryam’s Magic: The Story of Mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani

Maryam’s Magic: The Story of Mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani

By Megan Reid

$18.99

Publication Date: January 19, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually ships within 7-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 4 to 8, Grades P to 3

From Althea Gibson author Megan Reid and rising star artist Aaliya Jaleel comes the first picture book about trailblazing mathematician Maryam Mirzakhani, the first woman to win the world’s most prestigious honor in mathematics. Perfect for fans of Hidden Figures and Mae Among the Stars.

As a little girl, Maryam Mirzakhani was spellbound by stories. She loved reading in Tehran’s crowded bookstores, and at home she'd spend hours crafting her own tales on giant rolls of paper. Maryam loved school, especially her classes in reading and writing. But she did not like math. Numbers were nowhere near as interesting as the bold, adventurous characters she found in books. Until Maryam unexpectedly discovered a new genre of storytelling: In geometry: numbers became shapes, each with its own fascinating personality—making every equation a brilliant story waiting to be told. As an adult, Maryam became a professor, inventing new formulas to solve some of math's most complicated puzzles. And she made history by becoming the first woman—and the first Iranian—to win the Fields Medal, mathematics’ highest award. Maryam's Magic is the true tale of a girl whose creativity and love of stories helped her—and the world—to see math in a new and inspiring way.

About the Author

Megan Reid works in books and television. She’s lived in seven states and two countries, but now she’s happy to be based in New York with her dog, Luna. Meg is also the author of Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis’ Fleet-of-Foot Girl.Aaliya Jaleel is a freelance illustrator, designer, and visual development artist, currently majoring in animation at the University of Texas at Dallas. She is also the illustrator of Under My Hijab and Muslim Girls Rise. You can visit her online at www.aaliyamj.com.

Format: Hardcover

Length: 40 pages

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

ISBN: 9780062915962

Add to wishlist / Add to comparison

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2020 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal