Clarion Books Morning Sun In Wuhan
Clarion Books Morning Sun In Wuhan

Morning Sun In Wuhan

By Ying Chang Compestine


Publication Date: November 8, 2022

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7

What was the pandemic of the century like at the start? This swift, gripping novel captures not only the uncertainty and panic when COVID first emerged in Wuhan, but also how a community banded together.Weaving in the tastes and sounds of the historic city, Wuhan’s comforting and distinctive cuisine comes to life as the reader follows 13-year-old Mei who, through her love for cooking, makes a difference in her community. Written by an award-winning author originally from Wuhan.

Grieving the death of her mother and an outcast at school, thirteen-year-old Mei finds solace in cooking and computer games. When her good friend’s grandmother falls ill, Mei seeks out her father, a doctor, for help, and discovers the hospital is overcrowded. As the virus spreads, Mei finds herself alone in a locked-down city trying to find a way to help.An uplifting and genuine depiction, this novel explores one girl's grit and resilience in the face of great loss, and the ways in which people come together to heal and survive. Author Ying Compestine draws on her own experiences growing up in Wuhan to illustrate that the darkest times can bring out the best in people, friendship can give one courage in frightening times, and most importantly, young people can make an impact on the world.

About the Author

Ying Compestine is the former editor of Martha Stewart’s Body & Soul magazine and author of fifteen books for adults and children. A native of Wuhan, she is the author of the acclaimed novel Revolution is Not a Dinner Party which chronicles her experience of growing up in China during the Chinese Cultural Revolution. Visit

Format: Hardcover

Length: 208 pages

Publisher: Clarion Books

Publication Date: November 8, 2022

ISBN: 9780358572053

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2023 Linden Tree Books