Forge Books Mr Kato Plays Family
Forge Books Mr Kato Plays Family

Mr Kato Plays Family

By Milena Michiko Flasar


Publication Date: June 20, 2023

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually arrives within 5-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

An eccentric second-lease-on-life novel for fans of A Man Called Ove and The Story of Arthur Truluv.

Mr Kato—a curmudgeon and recent retiree—finds his only solace during his daily walks, where he wonders how his life went wrong and daydreams about getting a dog (which his wife won’t allow). During one of these walks, he is approached by a young woman. She calls herself Mie, and invites him to join her business Happy Family, where employees act as part-time relatives or acquaintances for clients in need, for whatever reason, if only for a day.

At first reluctant, but then intrigued, he takes the job without telling his wife or adult children. Through the many roles he takes on, Mr Kato rediscovers the excitement and spontaneity of life, and re-examines his role in his own family. Using lessons learned with his “play families,” he strives to reconnect with his loved ones, to become the father and husband they deserve, and to live the life he’s always wanted.

About the Author

MILENA MICHIKO FLAŠAR was born in 1980, the daughter of a Japanese mother and an Austrian father. Her 2012 novel, I Called Him Necktie, was a bestseller in Austria, won both the Alpha Literary Prize and the Euregio Pupils’ Literature Prize, and was long-listed for the International Dublin Literary Award. In 2017, Flašar won the Niederösterreich Cultural Prize in Literature. She studied comparative literature at the University of Vienna, and currently is the literary fellow with the Austrian Federal Ministry for Education, Arts, and Culture.

CAROLINE FROH translates from German, with a fondness for Swiss-German prose. She holds an MFA in Literary Translation from the University of Iowa, where she was also a Provost's Postgraduate Visiting Writer.

Format: Hardcover with dust jacket

Length: 208 pages

Publisher: Forge Books

Publication Date: June 20, 2023

ISBN: 9781250842497

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2023 Linden Tree Books