HarperTeen My Fine Fellow
HarperTeen My Fine Fellow

My Fine Fellow

By Jennieke Cohen

$17.99

Publication Date: January 11, 2022

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 13 And Up, Grades 8 And Up

Perfect for fans of My Lady Jane and A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, this gender-bent, young adult take on My Fair Lady—by Jennieke Cohen, author of Dangerous Alliance—is punchy, clever, and absolutely delightful. 

It’s 1830s England, and Culinarians—doyens who consult with society’s elite to create gorgeous food and confections—are the crème de la crème of high society.Helena Higgins, top of her class at the Royal Academy, has a sharp demeanor and an even sharper palate—and knows stardom awaits her if she can produce greatness in her final year.Penelope Pickering is going to prove the value of non-European cuisine to all of England. Her contemporaries may scorn her Filipina heritage and her dishes, but with her flawless social graces and culinary talents, Penelope is set to prove them wrong.Elijah Little has nothing to his name but a truly excellent instinct for flavors. London merchants won’t allow a Jewish boy to own a shop, so he hawks his pasties for a shilling a piece to passersby—but he knows with training he can break into the highest echelon of society.When Penelope and Helena meet Elijah, a golden opportunity arises: to pull off a project never seen before, and turn Elijah from a street vendor to a gentleman chef.But Elijah’s transformation will have a greater impact on this trio than they originally realize—and mayhem, unseemly faux pas, and a little romance will all be a part of the delicious recipe.Culinary delights abound, romance lingers in the air, and plans go terribly, wonderfully astray in this cheeky and charming Victorian tale, perfect for fans of Bridgerton or Dickinson.

About the Author

Jennieke Cohen is a Filipina-American author of young adult historical fiction. Her debut novel, Dangerous Alliance, was a Junior Library Guild selection and has been translated into multiple languages. Jennieke studied English history at Cambridge University and has a master’s degree in professional writing from the University of Southern California. She has worked as a nonfiction ghostwriter, a literary agent’s assistant, and as a writing consultant to Silicon Valley tech companies. When not writing or researching little-known corners of history, you'll find her cooking and baking up a storm, singing show tunes, over-analyzing old movies, or getting outside to enjoy the sun in her native Northern California. Read more on Jennieke’s website www.JenniekeCohen.com or say hi on Twitter or Instagram @Jennieke_Cohen.

Format: Hardcover

Length: 352 pages

Publisher: HarperTeen

Publication Date: January 11, 2022

ISBN: 9780063047532

Add to wishlist / Add to compare
Copyright 2022 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal Digital Wallet