First Second My Own World
First Second My Own World

My Own World

By Mike Holmes


Publication Date: June 22, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 8 to 12

Mike Holmes, the artist behind the hit series Secret Coders and Wings of Fire, delivers his solo debut: My Own World, a middle grade memoir-inflected fantasy graphic novel.

Nathan is always alone.

Stuck with four siblings and bullies he can't shake off, being alone shouldn't be as easy as it is. But his sisters think he's a pest. (That doesn't bother Nathan—the feeling is mutual.) All Nathan wants to do is spend the summer with his big brother, Ben, but something always gets in the way.

With only his vivid imagination as company, Nathan creates worlds and hideaways just for himself, with no siblings or bullies to bother him. But when he finds a real portal to another world, will Nathan finally find the happiness he always wanted? Or will his loneliness find him there too?

About the Author

Mike Holmes is an illustrator and author whose work includes the graphic novels Wings of Fire, Secret Coders, and Animal Crackers: Circus Mayhem. He's also drawn for the comic book adaptations of Adventure Time and Bravest Warriors and was a regular contributor to MAD Magazine. He and his wife Meredith live in Philadelphia with their son Oscar, Heidi the dog, and Ella the cat.

Format: Paperback - with flaps

Length: 240 pages

Publisher: First Second

Publication Date: June 22, 2021

ISBN: 9781250208286

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2021 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal Digital Wallet