Knopf Books for Young Readers Not Playing by the Rules: 21 Female Athletes Who Changed Sports
Knopf Books for Young Readers Not Playing by the Rules: 21 Female Athletes Who Changed Sports

Not Playing by the Rules: 21 Female Athletes Who Changed Sports

By Lesa Cline-Ransome

$18.99

Publication Date: April 21, 2020

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually ships within 7-10 days. Pre-orders ship after the book's publication date.

Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7

This powerful and inspiring collection features 21 female trailblazers in their sport, perfect for fans of Women in Sports and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls!

Before girls wore pants or women were permitted to swim in bathing suits at public beaches, who paved the way for women in sports? And who’s breaking new ground today?

This anthology introduces 21 trailblazing women who have broken through the boundaries set for female athletes. From basketball slam-dunker Lisa Leslie to tennis superstars Venus and Serena Williams, whose father had onlookers jeer at and taunt the girls as they practiced, to Paralympian Tatyana McFadden, who was a speed demon even at her Russian orphanage before she was adopted, to Olympic gold medalist Ethelda Bleibtrey, who was led off to jail when she shed her shoes and stockings to swim in public, Not Playing by the Rules inspires, informs, and illustrates the strength, determination, and accomplishments of women athletes both yesterday and today.

With powerful photographs and hand-lettered, inspirational quotes from the athletes themselves, this is a collection every young girl should own.

The featured athletes include Ethelda Bleibtrey, Bobbi Gibb, Althea Gibson, Gabby Douglas, Flo Hyman, Lisa Leslie, Mia Hamm, Tatyana McFadden, Mo’ne Davis, Ibtihaj Muhammad, Diana Golden, Constance Applebee, Lizzie Arlington, Babe Didrikson, Alice Coachman, Joy Johnson, Nancy Lieberman, Nadia Comăneci, Venus and Serena Williams, and Yusra Mardini.

About the Author

Lesa Cline-Ransome is the author of many award-winning and beloved picture books. Her picture-book biography titles include Before She Was Harriet; Satchel Paige; Major Taylor, Champion Cyclist; Young Pelé: Soccer’s First Star; Helen Keller: The World in Her Heart; Before There Was Mozart; Words Set Me Free: The Story of Young Frederick Douglass; and Light in the Darkness: A Story About How Slaves Learned in Secret.

Originally from Malden, Massachusetts, Lesa has worked as a proofreader, fashion copywriter, publicist, and teacher in the New York City schools, and has taught writing for adults. She has a BFA in Merchandising and Management from Pratt Institute and an MA in Education from NYU.

She lives in Rhinebeck, New York, with her husband and frequent collaborator, illustrator James Ransome, four children, and a St. Bernard, Nola.

Author Residence: Rhinebeck, NY

Format: Hardcover

Length: 48 pages

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: April 21, 2020

ISBN: 9781524764531

Add to wishlist / Add to comparison

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2020 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal