Holiday House Ode to a Nobody
Holiday House Ode to a Nobody

Ode to a Nobody

By Caroline Brooks DuBois


Publication Date: December 6, 2022

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7

A devastating tornado tears apart more than just houses in this striking novel in verse about a girl rebuilding herself.

Before the storm, thirteen-year-old Quinn was happy flying under the radar. She was average. Unremarkable. Always looking for an escape from her house, where her bickering parents fawned over her genius big brother. 


      Inside our broken home / we didn’t know how broken / the world outside was.


But after the storm, Quinn can’t seem to go back to average. Her friends weren't affected by the tornado in the same way. To them, the storm left behind a playground of abandoned houses and distracted adults. As Quinn struggles to find stability in the tornado’s aftermath, she must choose: between homes, friendships, and versions of herself.


       Nothing that was mine / yesterday is mine today.


Told in rich, spectacular verse, Caroline Brooks DuBois crafts a powerful story of redemption as Quinn makes her way from Before to After. There’s nothing average about the world Quinn wakes up to after the storm; maybe there’s nothing average about her, either. This emotional coming-of-age journey for middle grade readers proves that it’s never too late to be the person you want to be.

About the Author

Caroline Brooks DuBois is the author of The Places We Sleep, which received a starred review from School Library Journal and was an Indies Introduce and Kids Indie Next selection. After teaching English at the middle school, high school, and college level, she was named a Nashville Blue Ribbon Teacher. Caroline lives in Nashville, Tennessee with her family. Visit her online at 

Author Residence: Nashville, TN

Format: Hardcover

Length: 304 pages

Publisher: Holiday House

Publication Date: November 8, 2022

ISBN: 9780823451562

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2023 Linden Tree Books