HarperCollins Olga: The Smelly Thing from Nowhere
HarperCollins Olga: The Smelly Thing from Nowhere

Olga: The Smelly Thing from Nowhere

By Elise Gravel

$13.99
+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now
Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7
 

Inspired by Jim Benton’s Franny K. Stein series, Elise Gravel puts her own spin on the ultimate girl scientist. Olga is an animal lover extraordinaire, a regular fixture in her colorful neighborhood, and the star of this young, new, super-entertaining graphic chapter book series.

 

Olga finds a creature in her garbage can one day, and all it says is “MEH!” It won’t eat, it won’t sleep, it snores, it stinks, and Olga studies it like mad. She adores it and eventually names it after herself—an OLGAMUS. A trip to the library reveals little, while a trip to the local shop proves successful when Olga discovers Meh’s favorite food is olives! These episodes take place over a few days in Olga’s never-dull life, and she manages to reveal a great amount of information not only about herself, but about everything from the scientific method and Jane Goodall and some of her favorite odd creatures to the ins and outs of friendship and every human’s use for living in a community. The splendid line art in two colors and the humor are both irreverent and self-deprecating without being too sophisticated for any reader—girl or boy. Perfect for fans of Franny K. Stein and My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish, and a year or two before El Deafo, Roller Girl, and Smile.

 

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2021 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal Digital Wallet