Clarion Books On The Corner Of Chocolate Avenue [Hershey, Milton]
Clarion Books On The Corner Of Chocolate Avenue [Hershey, Milton]

On The Corner Of Chocolate Avenue [Hershey, Milton]

By Tziporah Cohen


Publication Date: December 13, 2022

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 4 to 7, Grades P to 3

The story of sweet success behind the Hershey’s Kiss! The invention of America’s quintessential milk chocolate bar is brought to vivid, delicious life in this STEAM picture book biography perfect for fans of Mr. Ferris and His Wheel and Snowflake Bentley. 

Hershey’s milk chocolate is the quintessential American chocolate bar. But in Milton Hershey’s time, chocolate was mostly a special treat for the very wealthy. Milton grew up poor and was no stranger to going hungry. When he got a job washing dishes in an ice cream parlor, he realized how happy sweets made people—and how much he liked making people happy.Over the course of his career, Hershey failed to make many businesses profitable, yet ultimately cracked the formula on milk chocolate. Here was a chocolate that was delicious, didn’t spoil, and could be sold at an affordable price in communities across America and the world. And here was a business that could provide good lives in a welcoming town and an education for those who couldn’t afford it.Perfect for the chocolate lover, inventor, and science-experiment-obsessed childhood reader, this biography shows that perseverance and persistence can lead to sweet success.

About the Author

Tziporah Cohen has an MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts. Her debut middle grade novel, No Vacancy, was a JLG Selection and a Sydney Taylor Honor winner. She lives in Toronto with her husband and children.Steven Salerno has illustrated many books for children, including The Crayon Man. A graduate of Parsons School of Design, Steven lives and works in New York City.

Format: Hardcover

Length: 40 pages

Publisher: Clarion Books

Publication Date: December 13, 2022

ISBN: 9780358578758

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2024 Linden Tree Books