Katherine Tegen Books One Jar of Magic Katherine Tegen Books One Jar of Magic
Katherine Tegen Books One Jar of Magic Katherine Tegen Books One Jar of Magic

One Jar of Magic

By Corey Ann Haydu

$16.99

Publication Date: February 9, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: Usually ships within 7-10 days Pre-orders ship after the publication date.

Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7

Critically acclaimed author Corey Ann Haydu weaves a powerful, middle grade tale about a young girl in a magical town who believes she is destined to catch more jars of magic than anyone else on New Year's Day—only to catch just one tiny jar of magic. Perfect for fans of Anne Ursu, Rebecca Stead, and Wendy Mass.

Rose Alice Anders is Little Luck. Lucky to be born into the Anders family. Lucky to be just as special, just as magical, as the most revered man in town—her father. It feels like the whole town has been waiting for Rose to turn twelve, when she can join the town in their annual capturing of magic on New Year’s Day and become the person she was always meant to be.But when the special day finally comes, Rose doesn’t capture the powerful magic. Or the most interesting magic. She barely captures one tiny jar of magic. So while everyone else celebrates their armfuls of jars, Rose has just the one jar—the least anyone has ever gotten.Rose’s dad won’t talk to her anymore and her friendships have gotten all twisted and wrong, but Rose is hearing whispers about people who aren’t meant for magic at all, and maybe that’s where she really belongs. Maybe if she’s away from all the jars of magic, and from her dad telling her who she’s meant to be, who she has to be, Rose can begin to piece together what’s truly real in a world full of magic.Critically acclaimed author of Eventown, Corey Ann Haydu crafts a stunning novel about the power of identity, the complicated bonds of family, and the wonders within the not-so-ordinary ordinary.

About the Author

Corey Ann Haydu is the author of Eventown, Rules for Stealing Stars, The Someday Suitcase, five acclaimed books for teens, and the Hand-Me-Down Magic chapter book series. She grew up in the Boston area, earned her MFA at the New School, and now lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her family. Find out more at www.coreyannhaydu.com.

Format: Hardcover

Length: 352 pages

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

ISBN: 9780062689856

Add to wishlist / Add to comparison

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2020 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal