Philomel Books Over, Bear! Under, Where?
Philomel Books Over, Bear! Under, Where?

Over, Bear! Under, Where?

By Julie Hedlund


Publication Date: September 21, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 4 to 8, Grades P to 3

A hilariously clever story of wordplay and unexpected friendship, perfect for fans of 7 Ate 9 and Eats, Shoots, and Leaves.

Over and Under are two friends, and they’re enjoying a day at the park. They go on the swings (Over goes over Under) and the seesaw (Under is under Over). They meet a hot-dog dog (who joins them for a hot dog). And then they spot…a bear! (Unbearable!) But is he really the overall scary creature they first understand him to be?

In this hilariously punny story that will have readers laughing out loud as they pick apart the wordplay, a pair of pals overcome their fears as they discover that friendship underpins all.

Praise for Over, Bear! Under, Where?

“I adore this book. Am Over Come with emotion…er laughter. It’s Jeff Mack on steroids, and every English teacher from kindergarten up to college needs to have it. THAT good.”—Jane Yolen, bestselling and award-winning author of How Do Dinosaurs Say Good Night?

About the Author

Julie Hedlund ( Julie Hedlund is an award-winning children’s picture book author who spends much of her time inside her own imagination. When she is not writing or reading, she enjoys playing in the mountains near her home in Boulder, CO. She lives with her two teenage children and their high-maintenance hound dog. You can follow Julie on Twitter @juliefhedlund.

Author Residence: Lafayette, CO

Michael Slack ( is the author and illustrator of many books for young readers, including Kitties on Dinosaurs, Dragon Meets Boy, and Shorty & Clem. His art and character design has been featured in books, television, and games. He lives with his family in the Bay Area of California. You can follow Michael on Instagram @michael_slackart.

Illustrator Residence: Bay Area, CA

Format: Hardcover

Length: 32 pages

Publisher: Philomel Books

Publication Date: September 21, 2021

ISBN: 9780593203552

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2023 Linden Tree Books