Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Promise Boys
Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Promise Boys

Promise Boys

By Nick Brooks

$19.99

Publication Date: January 31, 2023

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 14 to 18

A trailblazing, blockbuster YA mystery about three teen boys of color who must investigate their principal’s murder to clear their own names—for fans of Angie Thomas, Jason Reynolds, and Karen McManus.

The Urban Promise Prep School vows to turn boys into men. As students, J.B., Ramón, and Trey are forced to follow the prestigious "program's" strict rules. Extreme discipline, they’ve been told, is what it takes to be college bound, to avoid the fates of many men in their neighborhoods. This, the Principal Moore Method, supposedly saves lives.

But when Moore ends up murdered and the cops come sniffing around, the trio emerges as the case's prime suspects. With all three maintaining their innocence, they must band together to track down the real killer before they are arrested. But is the true culprit hiding among them? This exquisitely taut thriller shines a glaring light on how the system too often condemns Black and Latinx teen boys to failure before they’ve even had a chance at success.

About the Author

Nick Brooks is an author and award-winning filmmaker from Washington, DC. He is a 2020 graduate of USC's TV and Film Production program. His short film, Hoop Dreamin', earned him the George Lucas Scholar Award and was a finalist in the Forbes 30 Under 30 Film Fest. He is currently in development for his first feature film, We Were Born Kings, with Mandalay Pictures. Before becoming a filmmaker, Nick was an educator working with at-risk youth and many of his stories are colored by his experiences with the children and families of his community. He is also the author of Nothing Interesting Ever Happens to Ethan Fairmont. Follow Nick on Twitter @whoisnickbrooks and on Instagram @officialnickbrooks.

Thenickbrooks.com

Format: Hardcover with dust jacket

Length: 304 pages

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Publication Date: January 31, 2023

ISBN: 9781250866974

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2023 Linden Tree Books