Random House Books for Young Readers The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
Random House Books for Young Readers The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

$16.99

Publication Date: May 01, 2018

+ -
Add to cart
Author: McAnulty, Stacy
Details: In stock, arrives in 3-5 business days. In-store pickup available.

 

Ages 8 to 12, Grades 3 to 7

 

A lightning strike gave her a super power…but even a super genius can’t solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funny novel is perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by Sevens.

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn’t remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she’s technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test—middle school!

Lucy’s grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that’s not a math textbook!). Lucy’s not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy’s life has already been solved. Unless there’s been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty’s smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different.

“An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here!”—Kate Beasley, author of Gertie’s Leap to Greatness

0 stars based on 0 reviews
Add to wishlist / Add to comparison

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • 650-949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, California, 94022
Copyright 2018 Linden Tree Books
MasterCard Visa American Express Discover Card Credit Card