Mariner Books Rickey [Henderson, Rickey]
Mariner Books Rickey [Henderson, Rickey]

Rickey [Henderson, Rickey]

By Howard Bryant


Publication Date: June 13, 2023

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

“Seldom does a sports biography—especially a page-turner—so comprehensively explain the forces that made an icon the way they are.” —Sports IllustratedFrom the author of The Last Hero: A Life of Henry Aaron comes the definitive biography of Hall of Famer Rickey Henderson, baseball’s epic leadoff hitter and base-stealer who also stole America’s heart over nearly five electric decades in the game.

Few names in the history of baseball evoke the excellence and dynamism that Rickey Henderson’s does. He holds the record for the most stolen bases in a single game, and he’s scored more runs than any player ever. “If you cut Rickey Henderson in half, you’d have two Hall of Famers,” the baseball historian Bill James once said.But perhaps even more than his prowess on the field, Rickey Henderson’s is a story of Oakland, California, the town that gave rise to so many legendary athletes like him. And it’s a story of a sea change in sports, when athletes gained celebrity status and Black players finally earned equitable salaries. Henderson embraced this shift with his trademark style, playing for nine different teams throughout his decades-long career and sculpting a brash, larger-than-life persona that stole the nation’s heart. Now, in the hands of critically acclaimed sportswriter and culture critic Howard Bryant, one of baseball’s greatest and most original stars finally gets his due.

About the Author

Howard Bryant is the author of nine previous books, including The Last Hero: A Life of Henry Aaron and The Heritage: Black Athletes, A Divided America, and the Politics of Patriotism. He is a senior writer for ESPN and the sports correspondent for NPR’s Weekend Edition. He is a two-time nominee for the National Magazine Award for Commentary.

Format: Paperback

Length: 432 pages

Publisher: Mariner Books

Publication Date: June 13, 2023

ISBN: 9780063268661

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2023 Linden Tree Books