MIRA Road Out of Winter MIRA Road Out of Winter
MIRA Road Out of Winter MIRA Road Out of Winter

Road Out of Winter

By Alison Stine

$17.99

Publication Date: September 1, 2020

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

For fans of STATION ELEVEN and THE ROAD, Alison' Stine's ROAD OUT OF WINTER is an apocalyptic novel about a young marijuana grower who, when summer doesn't return for the third year in a row, is forced to travel the dangerous backroads of Appalachia in search of family and a new way to survive.

Wylodine comes from a world of paranoia and poverty—her family are marijuana growers, and life has always been a battle. And while she has long dreamed of escaping rural West Virginia, Wil has been left behind, tending her crops all alone. Then summer doesn’t return for the third year in a row, bringing apocalypse with grey clouds and white fields. Armed with the grit that that has kept her alive in a forgotten place, Wil hits the road with the goal of reuniting with her mother in California. With her grow lights stashed in her tiny mobile home and a leather sachet of precious seeds around her neck, she’s determined to start over. First, she rescues two young men from her hometown, and then she saves a teenage mother and her toddler from a violent cult. But the icy Appalachian roads and the groups of people hidden in the hills are treacherous. And Wylodine has the most valuable skill in the midst of climate chaos: she can make things grow. Propulsive and poignant, Road Out of Winter is a terrifying glimpse of an all-too-possible near future, where multiple dystopias demand an unexpected hero to forge family in the face of society on the verge of collapse. With the gripping suspense of The Road and the lyricism of Station Eleven, Stine’s vision of a dark but beautiful world and a young woman searching for where she belongs will leave you breathless.

About the Author

Alison Stine is the award-winning author of five books, including Ohio Violence, a collection of poetry. Recipient of an Individual Artist Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, she was a Stegner Fellow at Stanford University. Her essays on poverty and the environment have appeared in such publications as The Atlantic, The Nation, The Toast, The Guardian, and many others. She lives in the foothills of rural Appalachia with her son, and is a contributing editor with the Economic Hardship Reporting Foundation. Road Out of Winter is her debut adult novel.

Format: Trade Paperback

Length: 320 pages

Publisher: MIRA

Publication Date: September 1, 2020

ISBN: 9780778309925

Add to wishlist / Add to comparison
Copyright 2020 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal