Bloomsbury Children's Books The Book of Not Entirely Useful Advice
Bloomsbury Children's Books The Book of Not Entirely Useful Advice

The Book of Not Entirely Useful Advice

By A.F. Harrold

$19.99

Publication Date: March 23, 2021

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 8 to 12

From acclaimed writer A.F. Harrold comes a riotous poetry collection—perfect for fans of Shel Silverstein!

Packed with silly rhymes and witty wordplay, A.F. Harrold's poetry is positively bursting with fun—and advice. But it’s not always the most useful. . .

Never apologize to a door you’ve walked into, unless it’s a really special door. / Don’t serve a cat soup when the cat wants jelly. Tomato soup won’t fill a feline belly. / Don’t put a rock in a roll, unless you hate having teeth.

Among the seemingly nonsensical stanzas on onions, sausages, and kilted koalas are exercises in critical thinking—what advice should readers follow, and what should they dismiss? Harrold’s short, clever poems work seamlessly alongside Mini Grey's vibrant art to create visual gags that will have readers in stitches. Both silly and poignant, this book is perfect for curious readers, poets, and cabbages everywhere!

About the Author

A. F. Harrold is the author of The Afterward, The Imaginary, and The Song from Somewhere Else. He spends his spare time showing off on stage, at schools, and at home, and his non-spare time sitting around stroking his beard and writing things down. He lives in England with a stand-up comedian and two cats. www.afharroldkids.com / @afharrold

Mini Grey studied sequential design at Brighton University before launching her first picture book, Egg Drop, in 2002. Trained in puppet making, set design, welding and carpentry, Mini’s style has an unconventional flare and instantly recognizable quirkiness. Mini has now published thirteen picture books. www.minigrey-blog.com

Format: Hardcover with dust jacket

Length: 160 pages

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books

Publication Date: March 23, 2021

ISBN: 9781547606771

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

  • Where Imaginations Grow
  • (650) 949-3390
  • 265 State Street, Los Altos, CA 94022
Copyright 2021 Linden Tree Books
Credit Card PayPal