Inkyard Press The Gingerbread Witch
Inkyard Press The Gingerbread Witch

The Gingerbread Witch

By Alexandra Overy


Publication Date: September 13, 2022

+ -
Add to cart
Availability: On our shelves now

Ages 8 to 12

Whatever After meets Descendants in The Gingerbread Witch by Alexandra Overy. This novel, which will kick off a series of retellings of Brothers Grimm fairy tales, focuses on the daughter of the witch from “Hansel and Gretel,” who must find a way to bring her mother back to life after a pair of witch hunters push her into an oven.

Maud has grown up in a house made of gingerbread, wanting nothing more than to be a witch like Mother Agatha. But just like all of Agatha's creations—from the magical house made of sweets to the chocolate mousse squirrel, right down to the little sugar mice—Maud will turn back into gingerbread if anything ever happens to Agatha. After a terrible fight, Maud storms off only to return home to learn that Hansel and Gretel, a pair of witch hunters, have pushed Agatha into the cottage's oven.

To save herself and the other gingerbread creations, Maud will have to go into the dangerous forest of the Shadelands to find the First Witch's spellbook. But with witch hunters on her trail and other people interested in the book for their own means, it'll be far from easy. Can Maud claim the book and bring back the only mother she's ever known…or will witch hunters capture her before she can save her gingerbread family?

About the Author

Alexandra Overy grew up in London and moved to Los Angeles to pursue her undergraduate degree in history at UCLA. She then went on to complete her MFA in screenwriting also at UCLA, and stuck around for the weather and great ice cream. She loves writing in all formats, from novels to screenplays to graphic novels, always centering on fierce women and morally gray characters, often with a bit of magic and murder. When she’s not writing, she can be found baking, fangirling over her favorite books, or cuddling her kitten.

Format: Hardcover

Length: 192 pages

Publisher: Inkyard Press

Publication Date: September 13, 2022

ISBN: 9781335426864

Add to wishlist / Add to compare

Linden Tree Books

Copyright 2023 Linden Tree Books